- DTN Headline News
USDA Weekly Crop Progress Report
Tuesday, December 3, 2019 2:16PM CST
By Anthony Greder
DTN Managing Editor

This article was originally posted at 3:06 p.m. CST on Monday, Dec. 2. It was last updated at 3:33 p.m. CST on Monday, Dec. 2.

**

OMAHA (DTN) -- U.S. farmers made little headway in wrapping up the 2019 row-crop harvest last week, as two major winter storm systems hit wide swaths of the country at midweek and at the end of the week.

Nationwide, the corn harvest inched ahead only 5 percentage points last week to reach 89% complete as of Sunday, Dec. 1, 9 percentage points behind the five-year average of 98%.

"This is slowest pace since 79% of corn was harvested in December 2009," said DTN Senior Analyst Dana Mantini. "North Dakota was only 36% harvested versus 30% last week, Michigan moved from 56% to 66%, Wisconsin rose from 57% to 66% and South Dakota went from 68% to 80% harvested. Iowa is 92% harvested, and Illinois is 93% harvested."

Soybean harvest also slowed to a near standstill last week, moving ahead only 2 percentage points to reach 96% as of Sunday and remaining 3 percentage points behind the five-year average of 99%.

"Michigan and Wisconsin are the slowest, with soybean harvest 85% and 86% done compared to averages of 97% and 99%, respectively," Mantini said. "North Dakota is 92% harvested. Illinois is 100% done, while Iowa is 98% complete."

Cotton harvest was estimated at 83% completed, just slightly ahead of the average pace of 81%.

NASS said in its report Monday that it will give another update on U.S. corn and cotton harvest progress next Monday, Dec. 9.

To view weekly crop progress reports issued by National Ag Statistics Service offices in individual states, visit http://www.nass.usda.gov/…. Look for the U.S. map in the "Find Data and Reports by" section and choose the state you wish to view in the drop-down menu. Then look for that state's "Crop Progress & Condition" report.

National Crop Progress Summary
This Last Last 5-Year
Week Week Year Avg.
Corn Harvested 89 84 97 98
Soybeans Harvested 96 94 97 99
Cotton Harvested 83 78 74 81

Anthony Greder can be reached at anthony.greder@dtn.com

Follow him on Twitter @AGrederDTN

(AG)


blog iconDTN Blogs & Forums
DTN Market Matters Blog
Editorial Staff
Monday, December 2, 2019 12:37PM CST
Monday, November 25, 2019 12:08PM CST
Friday, November 22, 2019 10:31AM CST
Technically Speaking
Editorial Staff
Monday, December 2, 2019 8:31AM CST
Monday, November 25, 2019 8:32AM CST
Monday, November 18, 2019 8:33AM CST
Fundamentally Speaking
Joel Karlin
DTN Contributing Analyst
Friday, November 29, 2019 8:50AM CST
Wednesday, November 27, 2019 11:11AM CST
Friday, November 22, 2019 2:29PM CST
DTN Ag Policy Blog
Chris Clayton
DTN Ag Policy Editor
Thursday, December 5, 2019 6:14AM CST
Monday, December 2, 2019 10:41AM CST
Wednesday, November 27, 2019 3:22PM CST
Minding Ag's Business
Katie Behlinger
Farm Business Editor
Wednesday, November 6, 2019 12:01PM CST
Friday, October 11, 2019 10:19AM CST
Monday, September 30, 2019 4:22PM CST
DTN Ag Weather Forum
Bryce Anderson
DTN Ag Meteorologist and DTN Analyst
Tuesday, December 3, 2019 4:32PM CST
Monday, December 2, 2019 3:24PM CST
Friday, November 29, 2019 3:34PM CST
DTN Production Blog
Pam Smith
Crops Technology Editor
Wednesday, November 27, 2019 2:19PM CST
Thursday, November 21, 2019 5:06PM CST
Friday, November 15, 2019 11:19AM CST
Harrington's Sort & Cull
John Harrington
DTN Livestock Analyst
Monday, December 2, 2019 2:00PM CST
Monday, November 25, 2019 3:59PM CST
Monday, November 11, 2019 10:11AM CST
An Urban’s Rural View
Urban Lehner
Editor Emeritus
Sunday, December 1, 2019 7:53PM CST
Wednesday, November 20, 2019 11:05AM CST
Monday, November 11, 2019 8:31AM CST
Machinery Chatter
Dan Miller
Progressive Farmer Senior Editor
Tuesday, November 12, 2019 11:26AM CST
Monday, October 28, 2019 12:01PM CST
Monday, October 7, 2019 2:56PM CST
Canadian Markets
Cliff Jamieson
Canadian Grains Analyst
Thursday, December 5, 2019 3:24PM CST
Wednesday, December 4, 2019 3:25PM CST
Tuesday, December 3, 2019 3:52PM CST
Editor’s Notebook
Greg D. Horstmeier
DTN Editor-in-Chief
Friday, November 22, 2019 5:37PM CST
Monday, November 11, 2019 2:26PM CST
Thursday, October 3, 2019 11:08AM CST
Copyright DTN. All rights reserved. Disclaimer.
Powered By DTN